Iced Cubes and T’s and Kia the Black Panther

So as you may know, or may not know, I don’t deem myself important enough for you to remember details about my life but anyway as you may or may not have been made aware I now have a cat.

I feel that the companionship of another living thing, outside of having an actual human being, helps one to see what they will be like when they become parents. I think that everyone should get a pet of some kind before becoming parents. When Trump becomes President, he should find a way to make this into a law somehow.

I say that because I believe I have seen the future of me as a mother, and it is a dark and scary thing that I am now convinced I must never attempt.

Don’t get me wrong. I love this cat. Actually, I really do. I just realized that like, ten minutes ago when I was coming home from work. I’ve spent the past six days wondering what ever possessed me to believe I wanted a cat, considering the ramifications of leaving her at someone’s doorstep. My commitment phobia has made itself very present over the last six days. But now, on this seventh day of cat ownership, I’ve suddenly seen the light. I’ve accepted that this cat is now a part of my life and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Granted, I spend about 50% of the time yelling at her to get off of things, to stop lunging at my face, that my fingers are not play things for her amusement. But this cat’s got spunk. She willfully breaks the rules and defies me to do something about it. I like her tenacity. She’s also black, so we have that struggle in common.

Overall, I’d rate cat ownership a solid A-. Might become an A plus when she’s no longer a kitten and calms down a bit. Right now she’s got permanent crazy eyes and leaps at almost everything, visible or invisible.

In other news… Actually I have no other news. Except that I was thinking today about how limited my knowledge of Ice Cube and Ice T is. That Straight Outta Compton movie, which I’m not black enough or cool enough to be even remotely excited about, apparently features young versions of Ice T and Ice Cube? Apparently they were a part of some.. really popular, rap.. group.. or something? I’ve heard of Straight Outta Compton, in that very roundabout, periphrial way. Like how we all know we’re destroying the ozone layer but aren’t exactly sure how. Please forgive my ignorance.

I’ve always known that Ice Cube and Ice T used to be these big deal rappers, but my awareness of them has been strictly of ‘Are We There Yet’ and ‘Law & Order’ fame. I don’t know why I’m sharing this, but I just thought it was interesting how we all can have different understandings and experiences with the same people. Like, was Levar Burton ever just Kunta Kinte to anybody? Or was he both Reading Rainbow guy and Roots guy and Star Trek guy? Bruce Jenner was super athlete to some, Kardashian dad to others, and now he’ll be she, Caitlyn Jenner, to a younger generation.

Okay that’s all. I gotta find this cat’s cocaine supply.

G’day.