Level 28 Unlocked

I think I unlocked a new level of adult today.

First, I voluntarily made cabbage soup because, A) it’s good for me and delicious, and B) it’s cheap groceries and filling. I hated cabbage as a kid, as I’m sure most kids do. And now I’m voluntarily making soup out of it?!

Second, I made a huge mess in the kitchen (I also made creamy black bean taquitos) and cleaned up right after I finished. Two years ago, I did not do this. (It helps that I have a roommate, and I’m the kind of person that respects shared spaces unlike a lot of people...)

Third. I had a few bananas sitting around and I hate eating soft bananas so after I had already cleaned up my initial huge mess, I decided I would make banana bread. My aforementioned roommate is vegan, so I thought, I’ll make it vegan so she can have some too if she’d like. And I had all the necessary ingredients and kitchen tools to make this banana bread, including a loaf pan. 

I don’t know who I’ve become, but I’m mesmerized by the process of maturity. It doesn’t hit everyone, (i.e., our current man-child president). But if you had the right ingredients in you, it just kind of slowly comes together. I’m only 28, so I have a whole lot more stuff to learn, more experiences to go through (marriage maybe, kids maybe, first time I slap someone in the face), but it’s really weird to look back on who I was in elementary school, high school, college and now.

I mean, I am cooking and mildly enjoying it! That’s crazy to me. My dad used to have to force me to even watch him cook. Here’s hoping I get better and not worse!

Anyway, just a random update on how I’m progressing as a conscious fleshbag. Have you ever thought about that? How insane conciousness is? How what we’re made of becomes sentient and we can have memories, feel pain, inflict pain, the range of our emotional capabilities?

That was a hard left. Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

