My President is Black, The Sky is Blue

 

I remember when I was first made aware that someone named Barack Obama, a black man, was running for President. I wasn’t old enough to vote yet, (though I was by the time he won) and I knew next to nothing about politics (still don’t, but probably a smidge more). But what I did know with certainty was that there was no way a black guy was going to be President. In fact I was pretty certain that Hillary was going to win the primary because I mean, she’s Hillary, people love her right? (Poor Hill. She’s taken some major L’s in the last 10 years).

Welp, as anyone alive knows, I was dead wrong.

From the moment Obama won, to right now, people have had a problem with him, and have in some way tried to undermine how important his election was. I remember an article being published in my university’s newspaper the very next day about why it shouldn’t matter that we have a black person as president, because “color doesn’t matter”. SIGH. Today I just read something where someone said ‘Isn’t Obama’s mom white? Why does skin color matter.’ SIGH.

I’m glad I was wrong. I’m glad I got to vote for Barack Hussein Obama in two elections. I’m not sure how many chances I’ll have to be part of major historic milestones in this country, and so to have the opportunity to say I did is pretty cool.

No one knows what’s going to happen in the next four years, but most people can say with some certainty it won’t be good. We have someone as President who doesn’t seem to actually understand the magnitude of his role as a leader and will probably be delegating a bulk of his tasks to people who have agendas that do not look out for the wellbeing of a lot of people. People are worried, as they have every right to be.

But for TODAY do something awesome and be merry because you’re president is still black, and still an overall cool dude.

Unless you’re a Trump supporter and you’re excited, and in that case I don’t know how you can live with yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

