What’s A Traffic?

Hello and greetings from Texas!

I was fooling myself in thinking there was anything resembling ‘traffic’ in Dayton, OH. Austin, Texas mocks me for my small town thoughts. This is the first time I’ve ever had to drive in anything resembling real traffic to get to work. Three lane highways filled with vehicles, frantically merging, aggressively speeding up and swooping into the lane you need to be in. The thought always terrified me, but I’m much better at city-esque driving than I thought I would be. I don’t love it, but it no longer gives me heart palpitations.

Today, I thought I would take a quick jaunt to Whole Foods to pick up some vegenaise. I have now learned that there is no such thing as ‘jaunting’ in 5 pm traffic. 2 hours after getting off of work, I’m finally home and am fine with not leaving again until I have to do this all again tomorrow.

As I travel deeper and deeper down the rabbit hole of adulthood, I become more in awe of people who decide to be fruitful and multiply. In awe of people who work more than one job while finishing their degrees, or those who battle illnesses (or have a spouse who is) while still trying to make a living for themselves and/or their kids.

No matter how you perceive our Westernized society and our ever present desire to go go go I still have respect for people who manage to stay awake, alert and alive through all of it.

BY the way. I have now learned that cats should not be introduced to each other aggressively, or after an 11 hour trip. If you’re cat is not declawed, you will pay the price. My sister and I have scars to prove this.

Anyway, till next time!

Leave a Reply

