No Man Is An Island And Such

I have not been “okay” lately. In my non-okayness, I’m beginning to wonder if any of us are really okay or if we all just pretend for the sake of solidarity. Are we all pretending because it stops us from crumbling? Like, if we fully accept that we are deeply flawed and broken inside, will everyone just unanimously decide to quit and jump into the ocean? What keeps us pretending? Or are there people out there that are really just “fine”?

This isn’t a cry for help, by the way. We all experience our times of existential crisis, I’ve just decided to blog about my current one.

My non-okayness is linked to many things, but the one I will publicly share is this post college life that I am continuing to muddle through. I remember thinking that I wish there’d been some kind of prep-course in college for ‘what happens when I’m unemployed for a year after I get my diploma? How do I stop myself from walking into oncoming traffic?’ Well, now I’m starting to wonder why no one prepared me for the ‘your first full-time job out of college may or may not be your dream job and also it doesn’t mean you’ve arrived at ‘figured it out’ station. It just means you got off of the ‘what now’ train temporarily for coffee and snacks.’

But, there isn’t anything anyone can do to prepare you for everything that is early adulthood. All we can do is be there for each other. It’s a really simple answer, but I think it’s the most important thing I’ve learned in my very short time as a human. Human need other humans. ‘No man is an island.’ It’s why God created more than just one, why He gave us the ability to reproduce. In our small, sometimes bleak, existence, we are supposed to be there to make sure everyone is okay.

And if the news is telling us anything right now, it’s that we’re not all okay. So those of us who are good, who care about others, who have close friends and family, we should take extra time to be there for one another. Because you never know when someone is not okay. Social media is not a reliable way to measure whether someone is doing well. So pick up the phone or text someone, actually check in. There’s at least 7 billion of us on this big ‘ol Earth. And each of us has at least 3 people in our circle of influence. Make sure you’re people are okay.

For your reading pleasure:

No man is an island,
Entire of itself,
Every man is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main.
If a clod be washed away by the sea,
Europe is the less.
As well as if a promontory were.
As well as if a manor of thy friend’s
Or of thine own were:
Any man’s death diminishes me,
Because I am involved in mankind,
And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls;
It tolls for thee.

 

Leave a Reply

