Sunflowers, Forgetting, Stuff

Man, I haven’t blogged in a while. Many things have occurred in my little old life. Good things, bad things, happy things, sad things. Mostly things, which seems to be a trademark of “life.”

I drove by this huge field of sunflowers today and of course it was beautiful. I saw this couple standing in the flowers and the girl was squatting and taking an up close photo of one of the flowers. (You think you know where this is going don’t you? Well you don’t so stop that.) And I thought of how no one looks at things anymore. We look through things to look at things. And I shouldn’t say no one, but, the majority of the population no longer looks. I thought about stopping to take a picture but I thought, why? I saw them, I’ll remember what they look like. And so what if I don’t? It happened, and it was good.

I don’t necessarily think our obsession with capturing every single menial thing in our lives is making us disconnected or out of touch with reality or whatever. I think part of it is that we don’t want to forget. Or at least we think we don’t want to forget. But we still end up forgetting, because the pictures disappear, the feelings and thoughts associated with that experience get stale, and then all we have is a stock memory, knowing that it happened but not much else. I can’t tell you how many pictures I took at my high school graduation. I smiled until my mouth was numb. Have I seen any of those pictures? Not one. But I remember the day, not every little detail, but I remember moments, and enjoying them.

Not that it’s a bad thing to capture beautiful things, or to not want to forget. But I wonder what the days were like when all a person had to recount something they’d seen were their words. They had to be descriptive, they had to remember what they saw so they could tell someone about it. Either that, or they soaked in the moment and didn’t even bother trying to retain the memory. Instead they just let themselves have it and then let it drift away and settle into whatever part of our brains is associated with the temporary. Now we just throw our phones in someones face and say “look.” I wonder if our learning is slightly impaired because no one passes on their knowledge anymore. If I ask someone to define something for me, or explain a concept or a person, I get “google it” or “google is your friend.” Maybe we stopped learning from each other.

Anyway, I don’t know what I’m jabbering on about. I have stuff I want to get done so I can enjoy the rest of my day off so, see ya. Hopefully it’s not another century before I blog again!

Peace.

Leave a Reply

