When Will I Feel Like A Grownup? And Other Such Things

I don’t usually like to express my opinions on controversial issues through any social media platform. For many reasons (actually not that many), but mostly because the internet is the worst forum for debate. Nobody’s stance on a hot topic has ever been changed through a Facebook comment or tweet. If it has, you weren’t that serious about it in the first place. The most that will happen is a “hmmm, I hadn’t thought about it that way,” but your mind isn’t changed. It takes research, time and thought.

AHEM That being said, I thought I’d at least address the elephant in the Adventist room. The big women’s ordination vote goes down today, and while my cynical self says nothing will change, the tiny free bird that flutters in my chest hopes for progress. Ooooooh, progress is a scary word for us Adventists, isn’t it? Progress is a synonym for sin, at least that’s the vibe I get from some of us. Anyway, I have yet to hear an argument against WO that makes sense to me. I do not believe that God will take away the special gold star He has supposedly given us if we allow women the technicality of ordination. There are already female pastor’s who have been in this game for a long time, so a yes or no vote won’t change what they are. I had a female pastor in high school (shout out to K Martin, who was so cool she didn’t hate me for spilling hot chocolate on her sofa!). She was an incredibly dedicated, awesome pastor and no vote is going to change that.

I have a lot to say on this topic, but again, I’d rather it be a conversation than a manifesto. So on to a new topic which is…

When, exactly, am I going to feel like an adult? Because I still don’t. I’m closer to 30 than I am to 20, but I still feel like a teenager sometimes. I even went to set up a new bank account today and felt like, shouldn’t my parents be here supervising this? I have no idea what I’m doing. What’s a CD? Whose IRA? I have health insurance! I just got paperwork about setting up a retirement plan! But I still don’t make my bed, I almost never wash my dishes right after I use them, and there are whole days where, besides going to work, I won’t do anything. When I was a teenager I would think, wow, when I’m 26, I’m gonna have it all together. If my parents make me mad, I’ll just tell them off because I’ll be an adult. Yeah, no. When my parents make me mad I still smile politely, tell them I love them, then fume about it with my siblings.

Is there a mountain I have to climb to activate the adult switch? Is there a point where I’ll go to church and not scoff at the idea of going to the adult sabbath school class? When do I start hosting dinner parties and wearing fancy dresses? Will I hate that stuff when I start doing it?

Whatever. I’m going to Chipotle.

Leave a Reply

