Janelle, The Overly Critical

I’m learning that being my own worst critic can be more of a hinderance than a help. In my mind, if I can’t get something done perfectly the first or second time, I have failed and should move on to the next thing. Every job I’ve ever had has been fairly easy, part time work that takes maybe a day to completely understand. And now, here I am at my first full-time job, applying that same logic. Which is ridiculous. I haven’t even worked a full seven days at this new job and I’m already beating myself up for not knowing everything and doing it exactly right or being masterfully efficient.

One of my co-workers gave me the old “don’t beat yourself up you’ll get it” pep talk, which was effective in it’s own way, but won’t work till I actually believe it. I have no patience with myself, but now I have to learn to. Because this job is going to take more than a week, two, or even three weeks to completely wrap my head around. Which isn’t a bad thing (I’m learning). Time can be your friend if you let it.

So I’m trying to commit things to memory, write down little notes I get back about what I did wrong and how to fix it for next time. And I’m going to (try) and stop making myself feel like I’m not smart because I’m not a master in six days.

I hope you have enjoyed this public pep talk to myself. Good day.

Leave a Reply

