Greedy Racist Wasps

I’ve been thinking a lot about bugs lately. Probably because there’s some kind of horror movie style wasp takeover in my bathroom. The other day I pulled up some ivy from the side of my house because I thought it looked terrible. After I pulled most of it, a literal army of bugs went scattering across the rocks, likely terrified because I’d just uprooted their home. 

It seems there is still enough outside for the bugs to be satisfied, and yet, they still feel the need to invest our houses. Granted, we took the land away from them, but you know what? It’s time they learn to share. 

On a completely unrelated note, I was watching Tavis Smiley on Katie this aftermorning, and he said that racism was going to destroy this country. The whole episode was based on race and it did it’s job.. it made me very angry. I’ve never seen a talk show or talk discussion, or whatever it’s called, that properly handled the discussion of race. People always get angry, somebody says something mildly offensive and everybody just loses it. These talks never really educate anyone, they’re just good for ratings because people like to see other people get really heated about controversial topics. 

Anyway, I don’t want to talk about race. I want to talk about how Tavis Smiley is wrong. I don’t think racism is what’s destroying or could destroy this country–It’s greed. Maybe race has something to do with it, maybe it’s a factor among many factors, but greed is a way bigger issue. People want money, people want power, and they’ll do anything to get it. And when people stop wanting to give of themselves, and when self is what dictates ones actions, we can no longer be part of a community. 

Either way, I sprayed Raid all over the bathroom and haven’t seen any new wasps today, so maybe they got the message. 

Leave a Reply

